top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArmoured Fox Press

Torture Princess: Fremd Torturchen -> When You Try Too Hard

I had been waiting for Torture Princess to come out for about two months now, ever since I saw it coming up for sale on Indigo. I was intrigued. It sounded different than most of the light novels I had been reading, and a change to read something a bit darker was exciting.

I mean, most light novels in the isekai genre are filled with humour or follow the tropes of high fantasy. Sure, there may be darker moments, and even some that edge into horror, (Overlord, I am looking at you) but still, to have an entire light novel geared towards it?

Sweet.

After all, I read a lot of horror, so why not?

So I am about 20% in so far. The protagonist has been introduced with an extremely brutal death in the real world before he comes to this fantasy one. The Torture Princess has finally had her name explained, and the antagonists for the entire novel series laid out. So what do I think?

For those of you who went through a Goth phase when you were younger, remember how you tried to be cool and edgy? How everything had to be black or as close to it as possible. How Manson's antics of cutting himself on stage and bleeding everywhere was cool. (not to me personally, but you get the drift)

Well Torture Princess feels like that, only more so. Every page feels like Keishia Ayasato is trying to make this the darkest, bloodiest, most brutal light novel ever. Blood is mentioned again and again on every page. Menstrual blood is used for a teleportation circle. Acts of torture are described in detail. It's all very over the top and honestly, quite childish.

It feels like a teenager trying to pen something at school purely for shock factor. And I know that feeling, I did it in University art classes. (and looking back, I am mortified I did that, but I was working through some things at the time and... yeah, no, it was stupid. So, so very stupid)

I am going to try and finish the book, just on the offhand chance it calms down as things progress. But, if the Goodreads reviews have anything to say, it doesn't. And that's a shame, as if done right, this could have been a far more interesting book. But we will see what I think as time goes on. So keep an eye on this page and when I finish the book, I will revisit it here.

Until then!

-Tarl "Voice" Hoch

101 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Anthologies Everywhere!

Good day to you all! We here at Armoured Fox Press are working hard on getting through all the anthology submissions we have received over the last couple months. Some are nearing the end of the selec

Fall Catch Up Post

Good morning/afternoon/evening everyone! As Fall slowly creeps up on us, we here at Armoured Fox Press continue to press forward with some of our anthologies that are overdue. Mamano Menagerie is fina

April 23, 2022 Updates

Good day to you readers! 2022 has been an interesting year so far. Christmas 2021 saw a return to selling at conventions, albeit a very small Fur-Eh! Christmas party. We didn't expect many sales that

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page